So…what is slow living?

If you find yourself running around like a headless chicken, constantly having to make quick decisions without any time to think, breathe, or notice what’s going on around you, then a move to a slower way of living may be just what you need.

When I first heard of “slow living” I didn’t have a clue what it meant. I googled, I checked Wikipedia, I searched through blogs – looking desperately for a set list of rules to follow. And I didn’t find one. And that’s because there’s not one. Slow living is more of an ethos, a guiding principle that you tweak for yourself to work for you, your life, and your goals.

IMG_0370

Slow living is all about the slowing down, the making space to pay attention to what’s going on around us, reducing the busyness of our life, and creating space for ourselves, our loved ones, the environment and our values. It’s about taking a moment to question what’s going on around us and whether it meets what we want our lives to be.

People do this in all sorts of way: increasing meditation, mindfulness and yoga. Practising gratitude. Becoming more environmentally aware. Questioning their jobs and whether they really need to do everything on their to do list.

Bujo 20170601

This might sound impossible. I know, I’ve been there, I’ve felt like I need a 48 hour day just to cram everything in, that adding any additional elements in (even just 3 minutes of meditation) will break me. But it is possible. And I’ll be trying out various elements to see which work and which don’t, and to prove to you that you don’t have to live in this crazy whirlwind life if you don’t want to.

 

One thought on “So…what is slow living?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

