Slow your own – screen-free eating wk 1

Hi all! I hope you’re all having a great weekend!

I just wanted to drop in with an update on how my first Slow Your Own trial is going.

This month I’m trying out ditching screens whilst eating. You can find out more about why I’m doing this in my last post.

So I’m 7 days in and I’ve already learnt so much more than I thought I would!

Practically, it’s definitely been hard at points. On a work day I’m getting up earlier than I would normally so that I can eat breakfast before I go into work. Which means I need to go to bed earlier to make sure I get my 8 hours. I’m not always managing to crack the 8 hours sleep, but I’m getting better the more time goes by.

Lunches have been fine. It’s forced me to get out of the office and actually take a break at times when I was so busy and was considering skipping a lunch break. At the moment, since the weather has been great, I’ve been going to the nearby park and eating there. I did have a mess up on Monday where I was meant to be meeting a colleague for lunch, but instead we ended up going for a walk, meaning I had no option but to eat my food back at my desk whilst working. But, you know what, that walk and catch up was great, and fostering friendships is more crucial to me than whether I eat at my desk or not, so I’m not going to beat myself up about it too much.

Dinner again has been pretty easy. I’d usually catch up with my boyfriend over dinner anyway, and we’ve continued to do that. It’s still one of my favourite parts of the day!

still-life-379858_1920

However, where I’m really failing is snacking! I am the worst of the worst when it comes to mindless snacking. I can be half way through eating a snack at my desk, or at home whilst looking at my phone, before I even register I’m not meant to be doing that! I’m never going to be able to take a full 15 minute break at work to eat a snack, but I should be at least being mindful of every mouthful…not just munching away without a single thought! But, on the plus side, I never realised quite how mindlessly I snacked, so that’s been really enlightening.

Aspects that I’m really loving:

  • How much more peaceful the start of my day is. Having 20 minutes of silence where I’m trying to just focus on my eating is so nice. I’m also finding that I have time for 5 minutes of mindfulness before I leave for work, where I just get to lie on the floor and peace out…which is just bliss!
  • As I said before, it’s forcing me to take a lunch break, even just for half an hour. Normally I would have felt so guilty about this, and whilst that feeling is still partly there I also feel really dedicated to completing this trial. That seems to make me feel more entitled to take the time (even though I know that I’m completely entitled to take it anyway!).
  • It makes me appreciate the producers of the food. I love looking at all of the components of the dish and thinking of where they came from. Did someone hand pick the food? Who worked on packaging the items? It’s so nice to think of all the people who’ve been involved in getting this food to my plate! I also notice how damn beautiful some food is. I even started taking photos of my chia seeds ones day! (Don’t worry, this was before I started eating, so no screens were used at that point!)
  • It’s starting to help me make healthier choices. Because I’m more aware of what I’m eating, I’m more away of the nutrients and variation in what I’m eating.  It’s helping me see what nutrients I may be missing out on which helps me plan future meals. And when I’m eating something more indulgent I can really appreciate it rather than eating it without paying attention
  • I’ve really slowed down my eating. I’m chewing my food properly, giving me digestive system a helping hand – surely that can only be a good thing!

IMG_2385.JPG

What I’m finding difficult:

  • Leaving my phone alone. Holy cow, I think I’m addicted! I’ll be sat there eating and my muscles are twitching to reach for my phone. I guess it’s been a habit for so long that it’s become automatic. Re-programming my brain to not want to do this is going to take a while!
  • The thought traffic in my brain. Because previously I would often be on my phone, I wouldn’t be paying attention to my thoughts. Now there’s only my thoughts for company a lot of the time, I’m really starting to notice the whirlwind inside my head. Whether it’s thinking of the million and one things I need to do or fretting about something, it is non-stop. Sometimes I’ve not even finished one thought before the next one is shouting for attention! I’ve been trying to bring my attention back to what I’m eating, but it’s taking some practice to crack. I’ve also just started keeping a pen and paper next to me when I eat in case writing them down helps me refocus back on to my food.

 

Are you joining in with the trial? If so then let me know how it’s going in the comments!

coffee-2306471_1920.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

