August slow your own – get the zzzzzs

HOW IS IT AUGUST ALREADY?! Could time please just slow. down.

On the plus side it means its time for a new slow your own trial! Can I get a woop woop?!

So last month I did a trial around screen free eating. It meant getting up a bit earlier, and along with some sleepless nights I was feeling pretty exhausted. I was still getting around 7 hours of (broken) sleep but I really noticed how a little less sleep really impacted on how well I could keep good habits.

So I wanted to do something that would help me to get more sleep. I’ll be doing this through:

  1. Stop using my phone and laptop 1 hour before bedtime. The blue light from screens can disrupt the production of melatonin, the hormone that helps us to go to sleep. Normally melatonin is at low levels during the days, starts increasing a few hours before bedtime and then is at its peak in the middle of the night. However blue light puts off the increase in melatonin. This leads to us taking longer to fall asleep, having less REM sleep (where we dream), taking longer to wake up and feeling more tired. Screens such as phones, laptops, tablets and TVs all emit blue light, as do energy-efficient lightbulbs. Unfortunately (although fortunately for the environment!) all of our lightbulbs at home are energy-efficient, so there’s not a lot we can do about that (but we do dim our lights in the evening, and we do love a candle). Realistically, it is unlikely for me to not watch TV an hour before bed, but I will try and keep TV sleep to a minimum. Phones and laptops are the worst for me, and therefore I’m going to be making sure I don’t look at these an hour before bed.laptop-1571702_1920
  2. Pick up a book. Quite often I rush from doing something, to going to bed without any chance to switch off. My brain is still whirring, and I fidget and toss and turn. Reading is normally a good barrier between doing and sleeping, so even if it’s just for 5 minutes, I want to fit some reading in. It will also keep me away from those pesky blue light!stack-of-books-1001655_1920
  3. Write down worries. I have a lot of anxious dreams at the moment and I want to try getting out all worries out of my head and down on paper to see if that helps reduce the waking up in cold sweats!

As usual I’ll be doing weekly check ins to let you know how it’s going.

Do you have any tips for helping to get better sleep? If so comment down before so we can try them out!

One thought on “August slow your own – get the zzzzzs

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

